The Academy Council of Three Peaks Primary Academy has a vital role in evaluating the school’s performance and using this knowledge to challenge the school to understand its strengths and weaknesses and contribute to shaping its strategic direction.

The Academy Council of Three Peaks is fully committed to rigorously challenging the performance of the school and supporting its improvement. Our Local Governing Body is seeking to contribute to outstanding leadership and management of the school by being well informed and knowledgeable about the school’s progress towards meeting agreed development targets.

To achieve this aim, governors attend school regularly visiting classrooms to observe learning and talking to teachers about their practise. Governors also attend work scrutiny meetings and discuss progress and attainment. They also attend school events and support on school visits.

The CET Scheme of Delegation clearly identifies the roles and responsibilities of the Academy Council and the Trust.  Please follow this link to access a copy of the Creative Education Trust Scheme of Delegation.

If you have any questions about the governance of our school, please contact the Academy Council by email at

Any written correspondence should be addressed to Mr Paul Kealey c/o Three Peaks Primary Academy, Fossdale Road, Wilnecote, Tamworth, Staffordshire   B77 4HN.

The table below lists the members of the Local Governing Body of Three Peaks Primary Academy.

NameGovernor type
Mr Paul  KealeyTrust Appointed Governor
Mr Richard Penn-Bourton Headteacher
Mr Philip CantwellTrust Appointed Governor
Miss Amy Sibley Trust Appointed Governor
Mrs Angela Pickering Staff Appointed Governor
Mrs Kate Frost Staff Appointed Governor

Profiles of Academy Council Members  

Mr Paul Kealey
I have one son in school and one son who left a couple of years ago to move into High School, I have had links with the school since 2004 with both my boys going through the Baby & Toddler Group, Nursery, Reception, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. I became a governor in December 2010 and it is one of the best things that I have done. I feel that I am able to contribute to the goals that the school has to ensure every pupil is given the best possible education to inspire and release their full potential and I feel I can help in a small way by using the experience I have gained from my working as a Project Manager in the Financial services industry.

Mr Philip Cantwell
Philip Cantwell is the Director of Education at Creative Education Trust.  Philip Cantwell was Principal of Malcolm Arnold Academy in Northampton, which opened in September 2010. He joined the Creative Education Trust from the David Ross Education Trust as Director of Education at the beginning of the 2013/14 academic year.

Mr Richard Penn-Bourton
I have been Head Teacher at Three Peak Primary Academy since it opened on 1st December 2012.  Prior to that I was Head Teacher at Three Peaks Primary School and Deputy Head Teacher at The Dales Infant School.  Before moving to Tamworth I worked at two challenging Lower Schools in Northampton.  Throughout my career, I have worked for the Local Authority as a member of the Key Stage 1 Assessment Moderation Team and as Lead Literacy Teacher, supporting teachers from schools across Staffordshire in developing the teaching of writing.  My aim is to constantly improve the quality of teaching at Three Peaks so that the children achieve high standards.  

Mrs Angela Pickering
Angela Pickering joined the teaching staff at Three Peaks Primary Academy in September 2015.  Previously she taught another primary academy in Tamworth and is currently teaching in Year 1.  Angela shares the school’s aim to raise standards and ensure that the academy provides it’s pupils with the highest quality learning experiences and teaching.  Currently, Angela leads the school’s implementation of the Read Write Inc Phonics programme which has had significant impact on outcomes at the end of EYFS, Year 1 and Year 2.  

Mrs Kate Frost
Kate Frost has been a Teaching Assistant at Three Peaks Primary Academy since it joined Creative Education Trust in December 2012 after previously working at the school whilst it was under the control of the Local Authority.   She has predominately worked in Upper Key Stage 2 (Years 5 and 6) and has a keen interest in raising standards and pupil welfare.   Kate leads our School Council who play a key role in school development.

Miss Amy Sibley
Amy Sibley was appointed to the Academy Council by the Directors of The Creative Education Trust in June 2018.  Amy works at Ash Green School in Warwickshire, a secondary school in Creative Education Trust.   Amy is Head of Sixth Form and brings a wealth of teaching and learning experience to the Academy Council.  

Former  Academy Council  Members (who have served at any point over the past 12 months)

NameGovernor type
Mrs Marta Ophide Parent Appointed Governor
Mr James Dixon Parent Appointed Governor
Mrs Caroline Davis Trust Appointed Governor
Mrs Ann Langowski Trust Appointed Governor
Mr David BaileyTrust Appointed Governor